TSU Men's Tennis to Play Two Road Matches
Wednesday, February 17, 2016
TSU Men's Tennis to Play Two Road Matches

TENNESSEE STATE at DAYTON
Friday, Feb. 19 | 5 p.m. CT (6 p.m. ET)
Dayton, Ohio | Five Seasons Sports Park

TENNESSEE STATE at NORTHERN KENTUCKY
Saturday, Feb. 20 | 3 p.m. CT (4 p.m. ET)
Crestview Hills, Ky. | Five Seasons Sports Club
LIVE STATS

OPENING SERVE: The Tigers begin a five-match road swing with matches at Dayton on Feb. 19 and Northern Kentucky on Feb. 20.

LAST TIME OUT: Squaring off with No. 27 Vanderbilt, the Tigers were handed a 7-0 loss on Feb. 13. In doubles action, the Tigers’ top pairing of Jorge Rodriguez (Bogota, Colombia) and Daniel Bernal (Bogota, Colombia) went head-to-head with Pen Binet and Tate Allwardt in a competitive match, falling by a 6-2 score.

The day’s most highly contested match came at No. 4 singles where Kyle Burton (Madison, Tenn.) took on Allwardt. After falling in the first set, 6-3, Burton continued to battle, eventually dropping the second set by a 7-6 score.

ABOUT DAYTON: Entering Friday’s match with a 6-3 record, the Flyers are coming off victories over Duquesne and George Mason last weekend. For their play over the week, Carsten Fisher earned Atlantic 10 player of the Week, while Jordan Benjamin took home his third Rookie of the Week award. Benjamin leads the Flyers with seven singles victories, including five at the No. 1 position.

ABOUT NORTHERN KENTUCKY: Northern Kentucky boasts a 1-1 mark this spring with a season-opening loss at Kentucky followed by a home win over Division II Findlay. Competing at the No. 3 slot, Jody Maginley has won a team-best five singles matches so far this season.

WINNER, WINNER: On Feb. 9, sophomore Shashank Nautiyal (Delhi, India) became the first TSU player to earn Adidas OVC Men’s Tennis Athlete of the Week this season. Nautiyal is 5-3 in singles play this year to go with a 5-4 doubles record.

UP NEXT: The Tigers travel to Middle Tennessee on Feb. 27.

#BigBlueRising