Cross Country concludes 2010 season
Saturday, October 30, 2010

Cookeville, Tenn. - The Tennessee State University men and women's cross country team wrapped up the 2010 season on Saturday morning when they competed in the Ohio Valley Conference Championship. The event was hosted by Tennessee Tech, and was held at the Southern Hills Golf Course in Cookeville, Tenn.

In the team standings, both teams finished tenth overall with the women rounding out with a score of 300 while the men posted 310.

Both Eastern Kentucky teams won their fifth straight title while picking up the individual championship. Soufiane Bouchiki won the men's 8K and Katherine Pagano was the top finisher for the women's 5K.

In the women's competition, Eastern Kentucky (20) won their 25th title, the most in OVC competition, followed by Eastern Illinois (45), Murray State (111), Jacksonville State (119), Southeast Missouri (158), Tennessee Tech (181), Austin Peay State (181). UT Martin (183), and Morehead State (207).

The Tigerbelles were paced by Brittney Washington, who finished in 60th with a time of 21:56.39.

Following behind Washington with career times were Andreanna Rowe (63rd), Charita Harris (64th), Breanna Adams (67th) and Gabrielle Todd (69th).

Rowe finished  with a time of 22:18.07 with Harris clocking in at 22:23:35. Adams registered a time of 22:57.65 and Todd completed the course in 23:18.23. It marks the third time Todd has recorded a career time on the course while improving from last year's championship time shedding nearly five minutes off the clock.

Finishing in between Adams and Todd was Tiffany Harris (68th) who ended the course at 23:17.28.

In the men's race, Eastern Kentucky (15) took the championship for their 19th title overall in the sport, followed by Southeast Missouri State (55), Eastern Illinois (95), Morehead State (108), Austin Peay State (145), UT Martin (162), Tennessee Tech (189), Jacksonville State (211), and Murray State (260).

For the men, their top scoring runners finished with career performances. Chris Hobbs led the Flying Tigers by registering a career mark by one second with a time of 30:42.33 for a 63rd place finish.

Jonathan Owens placed 65th with a personal best of 31:34.83. Philip Myton (67th) registered his second career time of the season at 31:38.96 and Donnie Johnson (68th) crossed the finish line at 33:16.14.

Michael Johnson finished in 71st with a time of 38:21.13, and Printence McMurtrey rounded out the scores for the men while clocking in at 38:46.70 for a 72nd place finish.