Ford, DeShields, McCall Receive Awards from BOXTOROW
Monday, April 4, 2016
Ford, DeShields, McCall Receive Awards from BOXTOROW
Photos By Sam Jordan - TSU Athletics


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The awards continue to roll in for the Tennessee State men’s basketball team as Head Coach Dana Ford was named BOXTOROW Coach of the Year, Keron DeShields (Baltimore, Md.) earned BOXTOROW First Team All-America accolades and Tahjere McCall (Philadelphia, Pa.) earned Third Team honors from the organization, highlighting the excellence of coaches and student-athletes from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU).

The 2016 Ohio Valley Conference Coach of the Year, Ford led TSU to a 20-11 overall record in his second season at the helm. In what was the Tigers’ third 20-win season at the Division I level, Ford guided TSU to one of the biggest turnarounds in NCAA history, going from 5-26 in 2014-15 to 20-11 in 2015-16. Ford was also named National Association of Basketball Coaches District 19 Coach of the Year as the Tigers earned a berth in the Postseason Tournament.

Last month, DeShields was named NABC All-District 19 First Team in addition to First Team All-OVC and OVC All-Newcomer Team recognition. The guard from Baltimore, Md. was TSU’s leading scorer with 16.5 points per game to go with 3.3 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game.

McCall earned OVC Defensive Player of the Year, First Team All-OVC, NABC All-District 19 Second Team and a spot on the OVC All-Newcomer Team this season. The Philadelphia, Pa. native scored 14.6 points per game and finished with a TSU record 72 steals on the season.

BOXTOROW Coach of the Year: Dana Ford, Tennessee State
BOXTOROW Players of the Year: James Daniel, III (Howard) and Derrick Griffin (Texas Southern)

BOXTOROW First Team All-Americans
Derrick Griffin, Texas Southern (C, r-Fr., Houston, Texas)
James Daniel III, Howard (G, Jr., Hampton, Va.)
Quinton Chievous, Hampton (G, Gr., Chicago, Ill.)
Jamel Waters, Alabama State (G, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.)
Ladarius Tabb, Alabama A&M (G/F, Sr., Newbern, Ala.)
Reginald Johnson, Jr., Hampton (G, Sr., Chicago, Ill.)
Keron DeShields, Tennessee State (G, r-Sr., Baltimore, Md.)

BOXTOROW Second Team All-Americans
Eric Eaves, South Carolina State (G, Jr., Columbia, S.C.)
Dominique Elliott, Maryland-Eastern Shore (F, Sr., Savannah, Ga.)
Adrian Rodgers, Southern (G/F, Sr., Atlanta, Ga.)
Jeff Short, Norfolk State (G, r-Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
Chris Thomas, Texas Southern (F, Sr., Denver, Co.)

BOXTOROW Third Team All-Americans
Dante Holmes, North Carolina Central (G, r-Sr., Baltimore, Md.)
Tahjere McCall, Tennessee State (G, r-Jr., Philadelphia. Pa.)
Jordan Potts, Bethune-Cookman (G, r-Jr., Columbus, Ohio)
Malcolm Riley, Texas Southern (F, Sr., Newport, Va.)
Raeford Worsham, Jackson State (G, Sr., Waynesboro, Miss.)