OVC Releases Men’s Basketball Preseason Media Poll
Friday, October 16, 2015
OVC Releases Men’s Basketball Preseason Media Poll

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. – The Tennessee State men’s basketball team was selected sixth in the East Division in the Media Ohio Valley Conference Preseason Order of Finish, the conference office announced on Friday.

TSU brings back four of its top five scorers from a year ago and a total of five players who saw minutes in 2014-15. Among the team’s returners for second-year Head Coach Dana Ford are the team’s second-leading scorer at 10.0 points per game in Marcus Roper (Walton Beach, Fla.) and leading rebounder Demontez Loman (South Port, N.C.), who recorded 5.7 boards per game a year ago.

Defending OVC Tournament champion Belmont received 14 first-place votes to be chosen as the preseason overall champion by the media. Taking 11 top votes, Murray State was selected to win the West Division.

The OVC will release its preseason poll and All-OVC team, as voted on by league head coaches and sports information directors, on Tuesday during the league's annual Media Day in Nashville.

The pollsters for the 2015-16 OVC Media Poll included: Autumn Allison, The Leaf-Chronicle; Will Aubrey, Racer Insider; Catlin Bogard, OVC Ball; Mike Bradd, Eastern Illinois Radio; Neal Bradley, Murray State Radio; Thomas Corhern, Cookeville Herald-Citizen; David Loos, Austin Peay Radio; Mike Organ, The Tennessean; Mike Parris, Jacksonville State Radio; Greg Pogue, WNSR/TSU Radio; Justin Rust, Journal Gazette/Times-Courier; Harry Schroeder, ValleyHoopsInsider.com; Greg Stotelmyer, Eastern Kentucky Radio; Lindy Suiter, Racer Insider; Erin Unerstall, Southeast Missourian.

2015-16 Media OVC Preseason Men's Predicted Order of Finish
Overall Champion: Belmont (14 first-place votes)

East Division
1. Belmont (14 first-place votes) - 89 points
2. Morehead State (1) – 68
3. Eastern Kentucky – 59
4. Tennessee Tech – 45
5. Jacksonville State – 32
6. Tennessee State - 22

West Division
1. Murray State (11 first-place votes) - 85 points
2. UT Martin (4) – 76
3. Eastern Illinois – 58
4. Southeast Missouri – 44
5. SIUE – 28
6. Austin Peay - 24

Preseason Player of the Year: Craig Bradshaw, Belmont