Covington Named to NBA-D League All-Star Game
Tuesday, February 4, 2014
Covington Named to NBA-D League All-Star Game

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Former Tennessee State forward Robert Covington was selected to play in the eighth annual NBA D-League All-Star Game on Saturday, Feb. 15, at Sprint Arena inside NBA All-Star Jam Session at New Orleans Ernest N. Morial Convention Center. The game will air live on NBA TV at 3 p.m. ET.

Covington is averaging 21 points and 8.8 rebounds per game while playing for the Rio Grande Valley Vipers. He has also appeared in four games with the NBA’s Houston Rockets.

“We’re excited to bring 20 top young NBA prospects to New Orleans to compete as NBA D-League All-Stars,” said Chris Alpert, Vice President of Basketball Operations for the NBA D-League. “The NBA D-League All-Star Game is not only an excellent opportunity for the League’s bright young talent to showcase their talents, but gives basketball fans from around the country the chance to watch up-and-coming NBA players in the midst of NBA All-Star festivities.”

The field of 20 players was selected by a vote of the NBA D-League’s 17 head coaches and was divided into two teams by League officials. Players were eligible to be selected based on having played in at least half of their team’s games through Jan. 26. Each player must be on an active NBA D-League roster at the time of the NBA D-League All-Star Game in order to compete.

The complete 2014 NBA D-League All-Star teams are below.


C Hilton Armstrong (Santa Cruz)
G Seth Curry (Santa Cruz)
C Dewayne Dedmon (Santa Cruz)
G Manny Harris (Los Angeles)*
F Justin Hamilton (Sioux Falls)  
G Pierre Jackson (Idaho)  
F Kevin Jones (Canton)
G DeAndre Liggins (Sioux Falls)
F Malcolm Thomas (Los Angeles)*
F Chris Wright (Maine)

Head Coach: Steve Hetzel (Canton)
 Assistant Coaches: Jordi Fernandez (Canton), James Posey (Canton), Nate Reinking (Canton)
 Athletic Trainer: Mike Gittinger (Canton)


G Isaiah Canaan (Rio Grande Valley)*
F Robert Covington (Rio Grande Valley)*
G Troy Daniels (Rio Grande Valley)
F Ike Diogu (Bakersfield)
F Devin Ebanks (Texas)
F Melvin Ely (Texas)
G Ron Howard (Fort Wayne)
F Othyus Jeffers (Iowa)
G Christapher Johnson (Rio Grande Valley)*
C Jarvis Varnado (Iowa)

Head Coach: Nevada Smith (Rio Grande Valley)
Assistant Coaches: Paul Mokeski (Rio Grande Valley), Jason Young (Rio Grande Valley)
Athletic Trainer: Long Lam (Rio Grande Valley)

 * - Indicates a player currently in the NBA