Nesbeth, Rowland Named Phil Steele Preseason FCS All-American, 13 Honored as Preseason OVC
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
Nesbeth, Rowland Named Phil Steele Preseason FCS All-American, 13 Honored as Preseason OVC

NASHVILLE --- Tennessee State seniors Dajour Nesbeth and Chris Rowland have been named to the 2019 Phil Steele Preseason FCS All-America Team. Nesbeth is a second team cornerback, while Rowland was placed on the fourth team as a punt returner.

The two are coming off banner years, as Nesbeth hauled in four interceptions and added seven pass breakups as he led the team with 58 tackles in a weather induced nine-game season. The Winter Garden, Fla. product is currently ranked fourth on the TSU career list for Interception Return Yards with 210. Nesbeth sits behind Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie’s (2004-07) 281, Justin Williams’ (2002-05) 250 and Ezra Robinson’s (2014-16) 221.

Rowland exploded in 2018, averaging 120.4 all-purpose yards per game. As a receiver, the true-senior caught 57 passes for 727 yards and five touchdowns in just eight games. His national honors came for his performance on special teams. Rowland was a threat, averaging 13.0 yards per return on punts, as he had 14 for 182 yards.

The Tigers also placed 13 players on Phil Steele’s 2019 All-Ohio Valley Conference Team. Rowland was named to the first team as both a wide receiver and a punt returner. Offensive linemen Raekwon Allen, Thomas Burton and Lachavious Simmons joined Rowland on the first team offense. Running back Te’kendrick Roberson was selected for the second team, ahead of wide out Steven Newbold and lineman Anthony Geter who were honored as third teamers.

Defensive end Mekhi Brown joined Nesbeth on the first defensive unit. Defensive end Dante’ Ferguson Jr. and linebacker Terry Straughter were placed on the third team.

On special teams, long snapper Thomas Newberg was a first team pick and kicker Antonio Zita was named to the third team.

1st Team
WR – Chris Rowland, Sr.
OL – Raekwon Allen, Sr.
OL – Thomas Burton, Sr.
OL - Lachavious Simmons, Sr.
2nd Team
RB – Te’kendrick Roberson, Sr.
3rd Team
WR – Steven Newbold, Sr.
OL – Anthony Geter, So.

1st Team
DL – Mekhi Brown, Sr.
DB - Dajour Nesbeth, Sr.
3rd Team
DL – Dante’ Ferguson, Sr.
LB – Terry Straughter, So.

1st Team
PR – Chris Rowland, Sr.
LS – Thomas Newberg, Sr.
3rd Team
K – Antonio Zita, So.