OVC Names Seven Tigers to Postseason Teams
Tuesday, November 25, 2014
OVC Names Seven Tigers to Postseason Teams

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Seven Tennessee State Football Players were selected to All-Ohio Valley Conference Teams announced by the league, Tuesday.

Among those chosen to the First Team were defensive linemen Anthony Bass and Samquan Evans, linebacker Nick Thrasher and cornerback De’Ante Saunders. Offensive guard Robert Myers, defensive end Gabe Terry and safety Daniel Fitzpatrick made the Second Team. Terry also was selected to the All-Newcomer Team.

The duo of Bass and Evans wrecked opposing offenses all season long and helped the Tigers rank first in the OVC in total defense as Evans notched 44 tackles, 12.5 tackles-for-loss, 7.5 tackles and five quarterback hurries while Bass added 36 tackles, 12.5 tackles-for-loss, 7.0 sacks and five quarterback hurries. This was Evans’s first time being named all-conference, while Bass was the OVC Defensive Player of the Year last season.

The captain of TSU’s defense Nick Thrasher also made the league’s First-Team after a year in which he had 128 tackles (the second-most in the OVC), 11.5 tackles-for-loss and 3.5 sacks. The senior also moved up to second-place in tackles in school history over the course of the season, finishing with 356. Thrasher was Second Team All-OVC last season.

Playing in just his second season at TSU, De’Ante Saunders was the first cornerback selected all-conference. A year removed from the OVC All-Newcomer Team, Saunders had an OVC-best five interceptions on the season while tallying 51 tackles and six pass breakups.

Myers was the only Tennessee State offensive player to be selected to any of the three teams, and he earned it, starting in all 12 games. Myers anchored a unit that did not allow a sack in the last four games of the season, earning him an invitation to play in the upcoming Senior Bowl. Myers also made Second Team All-OVC in 2013.

On defense, Terry was picked to both the Second Team and All-Newcomer Team after leading the OVC with 11.5 sacks. This was Terry’s first season at TSU after transferring from Copiah-Lincoln CC.

Fitzpatrick missed three games due to injury but still managed to make the Second Team by notching 56 tackles and a pair of interceptions and forcing two fumbles. Fitzpatrick made the First Team a year ago, but was mainly injury-free.

Voting was conducted by league head coaches and sports information directors.

2014 All-OVC Football Teams and Award Winners

OVC Offensive Player of the Year: Dy’Shawn Mobley (RB), Eastern Kentucky
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Devaunte Sigler (DT), Jacksonville State
OVC Freshman of the Year: Justin Lea (OT), Jacksonville State
OVC Roy Kidd Coach of the Year: John Grass, Jacksonville State 


QB - Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State      
RB - Dy’Shawn Mobley, Eastern Kentucky     
RB - DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State
WR - Adam Drake, Eastern Illinois
WR - Paul McRoberts, Southeast Missouri
TE - Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois
C - Max Holcombe, Jacksonville State
OG - Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois
OG - Adam Wright, Jacksonville State
OT - Charles Sweeton, UT Martin
OT - Brett Eyckmans, Eastern Kentucky


DL - Devaunte Sigler, Jacksonville State
DL - LaMichael Fanning, Jacksonville State    
DL - Samquan Evans, Tennessee State
DL - Anthony Bass, Tennessee State
LB - Tony Bell, UT Martin
LB - Nick Thrasher, Tennessee State
LB - Kamu Grugier-Hill, Eastern Illinois
DB - De’Ante Saunders, Tennessee State
DB - Jermaine Hough, Jacksonville State
DB - Jourdan Wickliffe, Eastern Illinois
DB - Marty Jones, Tennessee Tech


K - Ryan McCrum, Southeast Missouri
P - Hamish MacInnes, Jacksonville State       
RS - Pokey Harris, Murray State


QB - Jalen Whitlow, Eastern Illinois       
RB - Abou Toure, UT Martin                  
RB - DeMichael Jackson, Southeast Missouri
WR - Josh Barge, Jacksonville State
WR - Janawski Davis, Murray State
TE - Bo Brummel, Jacksonville State
C - Nick Borre, Eastern Illinois
OG - Trey Shelton, Eastern Kentucky
OG - Robert Myers, Tennessee State
OT - Justin Lea, Jacksonville State
OT - Evan Kanz, Eastern Illinois


DL - Dino Fanti, Eastern Illinois
DL - Chris Landrum, Jacksonville State
DL - Caleb Lawrence, Jacksonville State
DL - Gabe Terry, Tennessee State
LB - Ben Endress, Jacksonville State
LB - Tyrelle Johnson, Eastern Kentucky
LB - Robert Haynes, Eastern Illinois
DB - Brandon Stanley, Eastern Kentucky
DB - Daniel Fitzpatrick Tennessee State
DB - Tim Hamm-Bey, Southeast Missouri
DB - Austin Tallant, Tennessee Tech


K - Andrew Lloyd, Eastern Kentucky
P - Jonathan King, Tennessee Tech
RS - Ladarius Vanlier, Tennessee Tech


QB - Jalen Whitlow, Eastern Illinois       
K/P - Nick Bruno, Eastern Illinois          
RB - Dy’Shawn Mobley, Eastern Kentucky
OT - Justin Lea, Jacksonville State
DE - LaMichael Fanning, Jacksonville State
DT - Devaunte Sigler, Jacksonville State
TE - Bo Brummel, Jacksonville State
DE - Gabe Terry, Tennessee State
WR - Brock McCoin, Tennessee Tech
P - Jonathan King, Tennessee Tech
LB - Nick Dance, UT Martin

Note: The All-Newcomer team is comprised of first-year players in the OVC - that can be either true freshmen, redshirt freshmen or first-year transfers. The team consists of 11 total players and is not voted on by position.