Tuesday, November 26, 2002
NASHVILLE --- Three Tennessee State football players earned first team honors while four Tigers received second team honors on the 2002 All-Ohio Valley Conference team. Netting first team honors were senior linebacker Jermaine Beale, and junior defensive backs Deon Giddens and Scott Cunnningham. Selected to the second team were junior wide receiver C.J. Johnson, senior tight end Steve Farmer, sophomore kicker Joey Hudak, and junior Carlos Wright as a return specialist. The 2002 All-OVC football team was a announced by the league office in Brentwood Tuesday afternoon. The team was selected by a vote of league head coaches and sports information directors. Beale (Atlanta) led the Tigers with 110 total tackles and 18 tackles for loss totaling 42 yards. Giddens (Nashville) led the team with 65 solo tackles, five interceptions, and three forced fumbles. Cunningham (Orlando, Fla.) led the OVC in total passes defended with 19 breakups and three interceptions. C.J.Johnson (Nashville) finished the season with 1,034 receiving yards on 45 catches. He scored nine TD’s and averaged 23.0 yards a reception. Farmer (Mihcigan City, Ind.) concluded a two-year career with the Tigers. He had 13 catches for 191 yards. Wright (Middleburg, Fla.) was a versatile performer for the Tigers. He averaged 21.6 yards a return on 19 kickoff returns and returned nine punts for a 21.5 average and scored a pair of TD’s. Hudak (Miami, Fla.) finished the season making 11-of-16 field goals and 31-of-35 PAT attempts. He made his first seven attempts to open the season. 2002 All-Ohio Valley Conference Football Team First Team Offense QB – Tony Romo, EIU RB – Billy Blanchard, MUR RB – J.R. Taylor, EIU WR – Deandre Green, MUR WR – Willie Ponder, SEMO TE – Nick Eller, EIU C – Scott Sholl, EIU OG – Kevin Hill, EIU OG – Larry Turner, EKU OT – Mike Bujnak, EIU OT – Clint Parker, MUR K – Shane Andrus, MUR Defense DL - Marcus Adams, EKU DL – D.J. Bleisath, TTU DL – Nick Hill, EKU DL – James Jenette, EKU LB – Jermaine Beale, TSU LB – Nick Ricks, EIU LB – Justen Rivers, EKU DB – Perez Boyd, UTM DB – Deon Giddens, TSU DB – Sunsett Graham, EKU DB – Scott Cunningham, TSU P – Brian Bivens, MUR KR – Andre Raymond, EIU Second Team Offense QB – Jack Tomco, SEMO RB – Corey Kinsey, SEMO RB – C.J. Hudson, EKU WR – C.J. Johnson, TSU WR – Andre Raymond, EIU TE – Steve Farmer, TSU C – Eugene Amano, SEMO OG – Dan Bieg, SEMO OG – Chris Rosenlund, EIU OT – Frank Castagnoli, EIU OT – Dan Connolly, SEMO K – Joey Hudak, TSU Defense DL – Clint Alexander, EIU DL – Chad Dewberry, EKU DL – Ryan Roth, SEMO DL – John Ruff, TTU LB – Ricky Farmer, SEMO LB – Bobby Sanders, MUR LB – Fred Miller, EIU LB – Daniel Wentzel, TTU DB – Obinno Coley, EIU DB - Mandrell McGregory, MUR DB – Dimitri Patterson, SEMO DB - Marco Tipton, SEMO DB - Demetrick Westbrook, MUR P – Phil Kuhl, EKU KR – Carlos Wright, TSU Offensive POY: Tony Romo, EIU Defensive POY: Nick Ricks, EIU Coach of the Year: Tim Billings, SEMO ###